Booker Prize 2019 gets two winners

£50,000 prize money will be shared between the two

Booker Prize

Although it is the third time that the Booker Prize is jointly awarded, the judges for the Booker Prize 2019 have defied the rules for the first time since 1993 and chosen two books as winner this year. Nadine Gordimer (The Conservationist) and Stanley Middleton (Holiday) won it jointly in 1974, and Michael Ondaatje (The English Patient) and Barry Unsworth (Sacred Hunger) shared the accolade in 1992. The rule was then introduced in 1993.

Booker Prize 2019 winners

Booker Prize

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

“The Testaments” is the much awaited sequel to the dystopian fiction novel “The Handmaid’s Tale”. The plot-line is set more than fifteen years later.

Margaret Atwood, a Canadian novelist, has already won the Booker Prize once for “The Blind Assassin” in the year 2000. She has been shortlisted for the same a total of four more times in 1986 (The Handmaid’s Tale), 1989 (Cat’s Eye), 1996 (Alias Grace), and 2003 (Oryx and Crake).

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

“Girl, Woman, Other” depicts the life struggles of twelve different black, British characters, mostly women. The characters share the stories of their families, friends, and lovers.

Bernardine Evaristo, an Anglo-Nigerian author, becomes the first black woman to win the Booker Prize. She has also written seven other fiction novels, along with numerous short fictions, essays, poems, and plays.

Also Read  The First Lady: A Short Film by India Intimate Fashion Week on Women's day


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here